Digital Forensics

Understand cyber attacks and improve cyber resilience to prevent damage in the future.

Why SECUINFRA

1 Expertise

Our forensics team has built up a wealth of expertise over the years by acquiring relevant training and certifications and, most importantly, constantly working in the field of digital forensics.

2 Availability

SECUINFRA has one of Europe’s most effective teams of digital forensics experts. Framework agreements guarantee that our digital forensics experts are always there to help right away.

3 Professionalism

Digital forensics is one of SECUINFRA’s core areas of expertise. Over the years, we’ve continued to perfect our methods, processes and tools so we can offer you a professional service at all times.

4 Preparation

We conduct an orientation for all of our digital forensics clients to prepare them for an emergency. This ensures that they remain calm and make the right moves should such a situation arise.

The SECUINFRA approach – digital forensics

1. ENDPOINT
FORENSICS
Analyze the endpoints (server, workstations, laptops) to discover traces of an attack. This includes malware, data exfiltration and user behavior, for example.
2. NETWORK
FORENSICS
Examining network traffic to identify and analyze traces left by attacks. Determine whether a solution is needed for full packet capture, NetFlow or log management.
3. MALWARE
FORENSICS
Analyze (potential) malware to identify IOCs, reconstruct the events surrounding the attack and evaluate the extent of the damage.

Where evidence is kept as well as which tools are used will differ for each forensics job, but the approach is always the same. SECUINFRA conducts forensic analyses with the following six steps:
Identification

In the first phase of a digital forensics assignment, the identification phase, our forensic experts obtain an initial overview of the security incident. To do this, they coordinate closely with the client, conduct initial interviews and search for potential sources of relevant evidence.

Preservation

The preservation phase is the second phase of a digital forensics assignment. During the preservation phase, our forensic experts ensure that evidence recorded and analyzed in later phases forms a chain of custody that can be traced at any time and cannot be manipulated. On the one hand, this is absolutely necessary for any insurance claims, claims for damages or criminal prosecution. On the other hand, it is the only way to reconstruct the exact course of events and to subsequently improve cyber resilience.

Collection

During the collection phase, the third phase of a digital forensics assignment, our forensic experts collect evidence for later evaluation. Depending on the security incident, this can be a wide variety of evidence. Among other things, infected laptops, hard drives, system images, phones, log data, downloads, network traffic recordings or mailbox contents. This phase, like the analysis phase, can be repeated several times if the analysis of the evidence reveals indications of further sources of relevant evidence.

Analysis

In the analysis phase of a digital forensics assignment, the collected evidence is analyzed in detail and systematically. Evidence found is then evaluated and conclusions are drawn based on the evidence found. As evidence is found, further evidence may need to be collected to confirm or refute the conclusions drawn.

Documentation

Documentation is a continuous process throughout the entire digital forensics deployment. Continuous documentation ensures that the entire forensic operation can be traced down to the last detail. Starting with the recording of the case, through the results of the initial interviews, the recording and analysis of the evidence and the resulting conclusions, to the final reconstruction of the crime scene. Only through detailed and complete documentation can a traceable chain of custody be formed.

Presentation

During the final phase of the digital forensics assignment, the presentation phase, the course of events is reconstructed as accurately as possible on the basis of the evidence found and the resulting conclusions. In doing so, our forensic experts take care to create an incontrovertible chain of custody and, if desired, make suggestions for improvements to strengthen cyber resilience at a later stage.


Awards

More than 5,000 companies in Germany rely on SECUINFRA directly or through partners when it comes to digital forensics and incident response (DFIR).
Best Product in Advanced Persistent Threat (APT) Detection and Response

Since 2020, SECUINFRA has been one of Enterprise Security magazine’s top ten digital forensics consulting/services companies in Europe!

References in the field of digital forensics

  • DISCRETION
    SECUINFRA does not publish a client list or references.
    Our clients’ right to privacy always trumps our marketing interests.
  • SUCCESS THROUGH EXPERIENCE
    The SECUINFRA DFIR teams have supported companies in the field of digital forensics and incident response (DFIR) day in and day out for years. More than 5,000 companies in Germany have placed their trust in SECUINFRA as a specialist in this area – either directly or through partners.
  • REFERENCES ON REQUEST
    If you’re interested in our services, we’ll happily put you in touch with suitable reference clients.

Digital Forensics

Cyberangriffe verstehen und die Cyber Resilience verbessern, um zukünftigen Schaden zu vermeiden.

Warum SECUINFRA

1 Expertise

Einschlägige Schulungen und Zertifizierungen, aber vor allem ständige Digital-Forensics-Einsätze haben dazu beigetragen, dass unsere Forensiker über die Jahre ein enormes Expertenwissen aufbauen konnten.

2 Verfügbarkeit

SECUINFRA verfügt über eines der schlagkräftigsten Digital-Forensics-Expertenteams in Europa. Rahmenverträge garantieren Ihnen jederzeit die Verfügbarkeit unserer Digital-Forensics-Experten.

3 Professionalität

Digitale Forensik gehört zu den Kernkompetenzen von SECUINFRA. Über die Jahre haben wir unsere Methoden, Prozesse und Tools immer weiter perfektioniert, um Ihnen jederzeit einen professionellen Service bieten zu können.

4 Vorbereitung

Bei jedem Kunden im Bereich Digitaler Forensik führen wir ein Onboarding durch, um ihn auf den Ernstfall vorzubereiten. Dies stellt sicher, dass unsere Kunden im Ernstfall stets die Nerven behalten und die richtigen Entscheidungen treffen.

SECUINFRA Vorgehensweise – Digital Forensics

1. ENDPOINT
FORENSICS
Analyse der Endpoints (Server, Workstations, Laptops) zur Identifikation von Angriffsspuren. Darunter fällt z. B. Malware, Data Exfiltration und Nutzverhalten.
2. NETWORK
FORENSICS
Identifikation und Analyse von Angriffsspuren auf Basis des Netzwerkverkehrs. Notwendigkeit einer Lösung im Bereich Full-Packet-Capture, Netflow oder Log-Management.
3. MALWARE
FORENSICS
Analyse von (potenzieller) Schadsoftware zur Identifikation von IOCs, Rekonstruierung des Tathergangs sowie Bewertung des Schadensausmaßes.

Der Ort der Beweissicherung und die verwendeten Tools unterscheiden sich bei jedem forensischen Einsatz, die Vorgehensweise bleibt allerdings immer dieselbe. SECUINFRA führt forensische Analysen in den folgenden sechs Schritten durch:
Identification

In der ersten Phase eines Digital-Forensics-Einsatzes, der Identification-Phase, verschaffen sich unsere Forensiker einen ersten Überblick über den Security Incident. Hierfür stimmen sie sich eng mit dem Auftraggeber ab, führen erste Befragungen durch und suchen nach potentiellen Quellen für relevante Beweise.

Preservation

Die Preservation-Phase bildet die zweite Phase eines Digital-Forensics-Einsatzes. Während der Preservation-Phase stellen unsere Forensiker sicher, dass Beweise, die in den späteren Phasen aufgenommen und analysiert werden, eine jederzeit nachvollziehbare und nicht manipulierbare Beweismittelkette (chain of custody) bilden. Dies ist zum einen zwingend notwendig für eine etwaige Inanspruchnahme von Versicherungsleistungen, Schadenersatzforderungen oder der Strafverfolgung, zum anderen kann nur so der genaue Tathergang rekonstruiert werden und im Nachgang eine Verbesserung der Cyber Resilience erarbeitet werden.

Collection

Während der Collection Phase, der dritten Phase eines Digital Forensics Einsatzes, sammeln unsere Forensiker Beweise zur späteren Auswertung ein. Diese können, je nach Security Incident, unterschiedlichste Beweismittel sein. Unter anderem infizierte Laptops, Festplatten, Systemimages, Telefone, Logdaten, Downloads, Mitschnitte von Netzwerkverkehr oder Inhalte von Mailboxen. Diese Phase kann sich, genauso wie die Analysis-Phase, mehrmals wiederholen, falls sich bei der Analyse der Beweismittel Indizien auf weitere Quellen für relevante Beweise erschließen.

Analysis

In der Analysis Phase eines Digital Forensics Einsatzes werden die gesammelten Beweismittel eingehend und systematisch analysiert. Gefundene Beweise werden anschließend bewertet und Schlussfolgerungen auf Grundlage der gefundenen Beweise gezogen. Durch das Auffinden von Beweisen kann es vorkommen, dass weitere Beweismittel eingesammelt werden müssen, um die gezogenen Schlussfolgerungen zu bestätigen bzw. zu widerlegen.

Documentation

Die Dokumentation ist ein kontinuierlicher Prozess während des gesamten Digital Forensics Einsatzes. Die kontinuierliche Dokumentation stellt sicher, dass der gesamte forensische Einsatz bis ins Detail nachvollzogen werden kann. Angefangen von der Aufnahme des Falls über die Ergebnisse der ersten Befragungen, die Aufnahme und Analyse der Beweismittel und die daraus resultierenden Schlussfolgerungen bis hin zur finalen Rekonstruktion des Tathergangs. Nur durch die detaillierte und lückenlose Dokumentation kann eine nachvollziehbare Beweismittelkette (chain of custody) gebildet werden.

Presentation

Während der finalen Phase des Digital-Forensics-Einsatzes, der Presentation Phase, wird auf Grundlage der gefundenen Beweise und der daraus resultierenden Schlussfolgerungen der Tathergang möglichst genau rekonstruiert. Hierbei achten unsere Forensiker darauf, eine unumstößliche Beweismittelkette (chain of custody) zu erstellen und wenn gewünscht, Verbesserungsvorschläge zur späteren Stärkung der Cyber Resilience zu unterbreiten.

Auszeichnungen

Mehr als 5000 Unternehmen setzen in Deutschland direkt oder über Partner auf SECUINFRA im Bereich Digitale Forensik und Incident Response (DFIR).
SECUINFRA Mitarbeiter haben seit 2010 zahlreiche relevante Zertifizierungen und Auszeichnungen errungen!

SECUINFRA zählt laut Enterprise Security Magazin seit 2020 zu den TOP 10 Digital Forensics Consulting/Service Unternehmen in Europa!

Referenzen im Bereich Digital Forensics

  • VERSCHWIEGENHEIT
    SECUINFRA nennt weder Kunden noch Referenzen öffentlich!
    Der Wunsch unserer Kunden nach Verschwiegenheit steht jederzeit über den Marketinginteressen von SECUINFRA.
  • ERFOLG DURCH ERFAHRUNG
    Seit Jahren unterstützen die SECUINFRA DFIR-Teams Tag für Tag Unternehmen im Bereich Digitale Forensik und Incident Response (DFIR). In diesem Bereich vertrauen mehr als 5000 Unternehmen in Deutschland SECUINFRA direkt oder über Partner.
  • REFERENZ AUF ANFRAGE
    Bei berechtigtem Interesse stellen wir den Kontakt zu passenden Referenzkunden her.